Licensure Application

LICENSURE APPLICATION GENERAL INFORMATION

  1. Licenses are valid from January 1 to December 31 for a two year period and are subject to biennial renewal.
  2. Application must be completed in its entirety. Failure to do so may result in delay and/or denial of license.
  3. All applications for initial licensure are to be notarized.
  4. An original picture (no photo copies please) must be attached to the front page of the application and be signed across the bottom.
  5. The individual seeking licensure must personally sign all documents unless a power of attorney is submitted to the Board.
  6. If the applicant is employed by a third party (not the facility where providing services), this information is to be listed on the application. Failure to provide such employment information shall cause the application to be rejected as incomplete.
  7. Applications are to be mailed to WVBOT at the address shown at the top of the application.  Please do not use a mail service that requires a signature for delivery, as this could delay delivery.  No faxed documents will be accepted as originals.
  8. It is the responsibility of the applicant to be informed of West Virginia’s Occupational Therapy Practice Act and Legislative Rules, copies of which will be included with license.

LICENSURE FEES

The initial license fee for an OTR is $150. The initial license fee for a COTA is $100. The fee must accompany the application. Check or Money Order, payable to the West Virginia Board of Occupational Therapy (WVBOT), is an acceptable method of payment. Foreign checks are not accepted. Do not send cash. License fee is not refundable.

REQUIRED DOCUMENTS FOR LICENSURE

  1. “Application” completed and notarized.
  2. “Verification of Licensure Status” required from each state you have ever held a license only if online verification is not available from that state.  Online verifications will be completed by the Board.
  3. “Supervisory Statement” completed and signed by supervising OTR - Required for COTA applicants.
  4. "NBCOT Score Report" for new graduates (request as part of NBCOT exam application).

CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS

(Not applicable to new graduates)

If applicant has not been a practicing clinician within a period of 2 years, you are required to submit proof of 24 hours of continuing competency contact hours within the 2 years preceding the application. If the applicant has completed fewer than 24 hours within the 2 years preceding application, the Board has the sole discretion to determine the sufficiency of the efforts of the applicant and to decide whether additional continuing competency hours are required before granting the applicant a license.

LIMITED PERMIT GENERAL INFORMATION

  1. A Limited Permit is available to graduates of an approved school and those who are foreign trained while awaiting the NBCOT certification examination. Candidates must take the certification exam within 90 days of the date their Confirmation of Exam Registration and Eligibility to Examine is issued.
  2. Limited Permits are valid 90 days from the date of issuance. There is no provision to extend, renew, or re-issue a limited permit. Please carefully consider your timing to coordinate your limited permit application/practice with your selected testing date.
  3. Limited Permits immediately become null and void in the event of test failure notification.
  4. Application must be completed in its entirety. Failure to do so may result in delay and/or denial of Limited Permit.
  5. All applications for a Limited Permit are to be notarized.
  6. An original picture (no photo copies please) must be attached to the front page of the application and be signed across the bottom.
  7. The individual seeking the Limited Permit must personally sign all documents unless a power of attorney is submitted to the Board.
  8. If the applicant is employed by a third party (not the facility where providing services), this information is to be listed on the application. Failure to provide such employment information shall cause the application to be rejected as incomplete.
  9. Applications are to be mailed to WVBOT at the address shown at the top of the application. No faxed documents will be accepted as originals.
  10. It is the responsibility of the applicant to be informed of West Virginia’s Occupational Therapy Practice Act and Legislative Rules, copies of which will be included with the Limited Permit.

LIMITED PERMIT FEES

The Limited Permit fee for an OTR is $120. The Limited Permit fee for a COTA is $70. The fee must accompany the application and will be applied toward the permanent licensure fee. Check or Money Order, payable to the West Virginia Board of Occupational Therapy (WVBOT), is an acceptable method of payment. Foreign checks are not accepted. Do not send cash. Fees are not refundable.
REQUIRED DOCUMENTS FOR LIMITED PERMIT

  1. “Application” completed and notarized.
  2. “Supervisory Statement” completed and signed by supervising OTR.
  3. “NBCOT Confirmation of Exam Registration and Eligibility to Examine”  (request as part of NBCOT exam application).  If not requested at time of application, select link below.
  4. “Academic/Fieldwork Verification” completed and signed/sealed by your school.

Applications

Application for Licensure / Limited Permit
Verification of State Licensure Status
Supervisory Statement
(for COTA and Limited Permit applicants only)
Academic Fieldwork Verification
(Limited Permit applicants only)
NBCOT Eligibility Confirmation Notice
(for Limited Permit applicants only)